Maleng Advocate for Youth Award

CCYJ established the Norm Maleng Advocate for Youth Award in 2008 to honor the memory and inspiration of CCYJ co-founder and former King County Prosecutor Norm Maleng, after his passing in 2007. Norm was a highly respected and unflagging advocate for children and youth. The Advocate for Youth Award recognizes those who, like Norm, show exemplary leadership, dedication, advocacy for, and commitment to the youth and families of Washington who become involved in our juvenile justice and child welfare systems.

Children in the juvenile justice and child welfare systems are some of our most vulnerable and forgotten children—and the change they so desperately need doesn’t happen overnight or on the front page. It’s the result of years of hard work and unwavering dedication. It’s important to celebrate the achievements and the heroes—those who never stop striving to create better futures for all kids. Those we honor with the Advocate for Youth Award each year excel in their leadership, their dedication, and their advocacy because they are backed by a community who cares.

Award Recipients

Justice Bobbe Bridge (Ret.)

2023: Justice Bobbe Bridge (Ret.), Founding President & CEO, CCYJ

2019: Gordon McHenry Jr, Chair of the Washington State Partnership Council on Juvenile Justice

2018: Governor’s Blue Ribbon Commission on the Delivery of Services to Children & Families
Co-Chairs Judge Anne Levinson (ret.) and Rep. Ruth Kagi accepting on the Commission’s behalf.

2017: Dr. Eric Trupin, Director/Vice Chair, UW Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington, and Casey Trupin, Youth Homelessness Program Officer for the Raikes Foundation—for their extraordinary, outcomes focused advocacy on behalf of at-risk and vulnerable youth.

2016: Dr. Ben Danielson, Medical Director of Seattle Children’s Odessa Brown Clinic—for his exemplary leadership and advocacy for all youth in Washington, with a special focus on systematic reform to improve the lives of underserved youth.

2015: Adam Cornell, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney of Snohomish County—for his extensive volunteer work and advocacy focused on improving the lives of foster youth.

2014: Joel Benoliel, Retired Senior Vice-President/Chief Legal Officer at Costco—for his advocacy, community service and support for foster youth.

2013: The Seattle Times and reporter Sara Jean Green—for shedding light on child sex trafficking and other issues related to youth in foster care and the juvenile justice system.

2012: Pete Carroll, Seattle Seahawks Head Coach—for his work in gang intervention grounded in community action and personal outreach.

2011: Jim Mallahan, Managing Director of UBS Financial Services—for his support of a trailblazing program for sexually exploited girls.

2010: Ann Ramsay-Jenkins, Co-Founder of the College Success Foundation—for her efforts to ensure college scholarships for young alumni of foster care.

2009: Perkins Coie—for its outstanding pro bono legal work.

2008: The Maleng family—in recognition of the legacy of Norm Maleng.