The 2019 Norm Maleng Advocate for Youth Award Breakfast gathered nearly 600 individuals on the morning of March 6, 2019, and together we took another critical step in advancing  JUSTICE FORWARD  for our youth involved in the child welfare and juvenile justice systems.

President & CEO Rachel Sottile awarded the 2019 Norm Maleng Advocate for Youth Award recipient to Gordon A. McHenry Jr. The CCYJ board and leadership are inspired to recognize such an accomplished leader in our community, who continues to devote his time and energy to social justice.


The President’s Award was presented to courageous young men from Green Hill School, Juvenile Rehabilitation, RA, DSHS. Aaron T., Jacob C., Joseph H., Garret C., and Isaac M. lead with a powerful commitment to make a lasting difference for the youth in Washington’s Juvenile Justice system. One of the young men shared after the event, that this is a day he will never forget, and will keep his award close to him for the rest of his life. You’re NOT going to want to miss their story captured by TVW.  Watch their story here.

In celebration of it’s 13th birthday, CCYJ officially launched its Twitter account! Please take a moment to check us out @CCYJ_WA and spread the word; we are in the Twittersphere, and want to be connected to YOU! How about a follow & like/retweet of our posts for today’s event! #JusticeForward #MalengBreakfast2019

A special shout-out and to thank the staff and board of CCYJ, and a special thanks to the breakfast co-chairs Jen Temple and Rich Sauer!

This event would not be possible without our amazing sponsors. Our greatest appreciation and thanks to our Legacy Sponsors: Mariners Care, Perkins Coie, Seattle Children’s, and The Seattle Times. A special thank you to our Partners in Justice: Amazon & David Zapolsky, Davis Wright Tremaine, LLP, Microsoft, Trident Seafood, and Washington State Partnership Council on Juvenile Justice. And thank you as well to our Advocates for Youth: Ankura (formally Navigant), Coordinated Care, Garvey Schubert Barer, and Kaiser Permanente.